26 Columbia Students Awarded 2022 NSF Graduate Research Fellowships

Twenty-six students and alumni of Columbia’s three undergraduate programs have won graduate research fellowships through the National Science Foundation. The Graduate Research Fellowship Program (NSF-GRFP) represents one of the nation’s most prestigious honors for young engineers, scientists, and social scientists, and this year’s group represents one of the largest cohorts from Columbia.

The NSF-GRFP recognizes and supports outstanding graduate students in NSF-supported STEM disciplines who are pursuing research-based master’s and doctoral degrees at accredited American institutions. The five-year fellowship includes three years of financial support including an annual stipend of $34,000 and a cost of education allowance of $12,000 to the institution.

NSF Fellows are expected to become “knowledge experts” who will contribute significantly to research, teaching, and innovations in science and engineering and, as the oldest graduate fellowship of its kind, the GRFP has a long history of selecting recipients who achieve high levels of success in their future academic and professional careers.

Each year the NSF typically receives over 13,000 applications and offers approximately 2,000 fellowships. This year, 14 Columbia College affiliates, 1 General Studies affiliate, and 11 Columbia Engineering affiliates have been awarded fellowships and will begin their fellowships this fall, circumstances permitting.

Congratulations to this year’s awardees!

Columbia College Affiliates

Brianna Alico, CC’20
Yasmine Ayman, CC’21
Matthew Bowers, CC’ 20
Ameya Chavda, CC’22
Amelia ‘Emmalina’ Glinskis, CC’17
Laura Hunter, CC’17
Allison Hung, CC’20
Mona Hui Xin Liu, CC’20
Chiu ‘Leo’ Fan Bowen Lo, CC’22
Nicholas Manfred, CC’21
Jorge Antonio Ochoa, CC’19
Sarah Radway, CC’21
Raina ‘Ranger’ Liu, CC’22

Alice Xue, CC’20

General Studies Affiliates

Yvette Schutt, GS’20

Columbia Engineering Affiliates

Cole Allan, SEAS’21
Christine Blackshaw, SEAS’21
Sarah Hancock, SEAS’21
Ayah Hassan, SEAS’18
Kaylo Littlejohn, SEAS’20
Joseph T Lee, SEAS’21
Isabella Leite, SEAS’22
Anushka Murthy, SEAS’22
Amey Praveen Pasarkar, SEAS’22
Yongpeng Tang, SEAS’18
Miranda Wang, SEAS’22

To learn more about the National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowship Program, visit the URF website or schedule a meeting with a URF advisor!