Five College Students Named Goldwater Scholars

2021 CC Goldwater Awardees

Columbia College is proud to announce that five students have been awarded Goldwater Scholarships, the preeminent undergraduate award in the fields of mathematics, the natural sciences and engineering.

Through the Scholarship, the following awardees have received funding for their respective fields of study (in order of the above photo):

  • Joheen Chakraborty CC’22, an astrophysics major from Edison, New Jersey; field of study: physics and astronomy astrophysics
  • Andrew Sullivan CC’22, a physics major from Yonkers, New York; field of study: physics and astronomy
  • Brian Jiang CC’23, a physics major from Edison, New Jersey; field of study: physics
  • Leo Lo CC’22, a physics major from Olathe, KS and Hong Kong; field of study: physics and astronomy
  • Julia Parsley CC’22, a biology major from New York City; field of study: life sciences

The Goldwater Foundation is a federally endowed agency established by Public Law 99-661 on November 14, 1986. The Scholarship Program honoring Senator Barry Goldwater was designed to foster and encourage outstanding students to pursue research careers in the fields of the natural sciences, engineering, and mathematics.

From an estimated pool of over 5,000 college sophomores and juniors, 1256 natural science, engineering and mathematics students were nominated by 438 academic institutions to compete for the 2021 Goldwater scholarships. Of students who reported, 198 of the Scholars are men, 207 are women, and virtually all intend to obtain a Ph.D. as their highest degree objective.

Columbia College students interested in learning more about applying for the Goldwater Scholarship program are encouraged to connect with Undergraduate Research and Fellowships.