American Chemical Society Scholarships

Multiple Locations,
United States
Term: Academic Year

Funding forĀ underrepresented minority students in the fields of chemistry or chemistry-related fields

The American Chemical Society (ACS) Scholars Program awards renewable scholarships of up to $5,000 to underrepresented minority students who want to enter the fields of chemistry or chemistry-related fields, such as environmental science, toxicology, and chemical technology. High school seniors and college freshmen, sophomores, or juniors are eligible to apply.

The ACS Scholars Program was established in 1994 to attract African American, Hispanic, and Native American students considered underrepresented in the chemical sciences by the National Science Foundation to pursue careers in the field. The program also aims to help build awareness of the value and rewards associated with careers in chemistry and assist students in acquiring skills and credentials needed for success.

To be considered for an ACS Scholarship, candidates must be African-American, Hispanic/Latino, or Native American; U.S. citizens or permanent residents; and full-time students at a high school or accredited college, university, or community college. In addition, candidates must demonstrate high academic achievement in chemistry or science (with a GPA of 3.0 or better), as well as financial need as determined by the Free Application for Federal Student Aid form and the Student Aid Report form. Candidates should either be majoring in or intending to major in chemistry, biochemistry, chemical engineering, or a chemically-related science or pursuing or intending to pursue a degree in chemical technology, and should be planning careers in the chemical sciences.

Fact Sheet

Columbia College, Columbia Engineering, Columbia General Studies, Senior, U.S. Citizen, U.S. Permanent Resident
Fellowship Type:
Postgraduate Degree-Seeking
Multiple Locations,
United States
North America
Academic Year

Dates & Deadlines

Academic Year
Application Deadline: 
Tuesday, March 1, 2022
The deadline for this award is March 1st annually.