Canon Collins Trust Scholarships for Postgraduate Study in South Africa

Multiple Locations,
South Africa
Term: Academic Year

Financial support for exceptional individuals who are committed to social justice in Southern Africa

Canon Collins Trust seeks to support exceptional individuals who are committed to social justice in Southern Africa and for whom a postgraduate qualification is an essential tool in working to create an open and just society. Areas of emphasis include justice, education and humanities.

Awards are offered in a variety of fields, subjects, and locations with funding available for up to a maximum of two years for Masters and three years for PhD. Continued funding depends upon satisfactory progress and academic reports. See the website for further information.


Applicants must:

  • Be a national of, or have refugee status, and be permanently resident in one of the following countries: Botswana, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, Swaziland, Zambia;
  • Be in possession of a good first degree (minimum second class, upper division or equivalent) or about to graduate in the year of application;
  • Be applying for a full-time postgraduate study.

Fact Sheet

Arts and Architecture, Humanities, Social Sciences, STEM
Columbia Alumna/us, Columbia College, Columbia Engineering, Columbia General Studies, Not U.S. Citizen or Permanent Resident, Senior
Fellowship Type:
Postgraduate Degree-Seeking
Multiple Locations,
South Africa
Africa South of the Sahara
Academic Year

Dates & Deadlines

Academic Year
Application Deadline: 
Monday, August 22, 2022
Deadlines vary based on program. Deadline listed reflects the Canon Collins RMTF Scholarships for Postgraduate Study, which has a deadline of 3:00 pm GMT.